You are here : Home > The Lab > People


Published on 8 November 2021


Post-doctoral Researchers

Ali JAFFAL (co-supervised with Moïra HOCEVAR and Olivier CONSTANTIN)

PhD Students
Anjali HARIKUMAR, "Development of AlGaN nanostructure s for electron-pumped UV light emitting devices"
Sergi CUESTA, "Contribution to the development of electron-pumped UV lasers"
Lou DENAIX, "Characterization of LEDs for energy efficient lighting and water purification by electron holography" (co-supervised with David COOPER)

Master Students
Joining soon :)


PhD Degrees Conferred
Fabien GUILLOT, “Development of nitride-based nanostructures for infrared optoelectronics”, November 13th 2007 (text in French)
Sylvain LECONTE, “Study of vertical transport in GaN-based heterostructures for opto- and micro-electronics”, March 6th 2009 (text in French)
Lise LAHOURCADE, “Plasma-assisted moleuclar beam epitaxy of (11-22)-oriented III-nitrides”, October 6th 2009 (text in English)
Prem Kumar KANDASWAMY, “Al(Ga)N Nanostructures for near- and mid-infrared intersubband optoelectronics”, June 29th 2010 (text in English)
Aparna DAS, “III-Nitride quantum dots for application to opto-chemical sensors”, June 13th 2012 (text in English)
Yulia KOTSAR, "GaN/Al(Ga)N quantum wells for intersubband optoelectronics in the near-, mid- and far-infrared", October 8th 2012 (text in English)
Chalermchai HIMWAS, "Nitride based nanostructures for ultraviolet emission", January 27th 2015 (text in English)
Mark BEELER, "Quantum engineering of III-nitride nanostructures for infrared photonics", June 9th 2015 (text in English) (2017 laureate of the Fondation Nanosciences Thesis Prize)
Caroline B. LIM, "GaN/AlGaN heterostructures for infrared optoelectronics: polar vs. nonpolar orientations", June 26th 2017) (2018 laureate of the Fondation Nanosciences Thesis Prize) (text in English)
Akhil AJAY, "GaN/AlGaN nanowires for quantum devices", Sept. 25th 2018 (text in English)
Maria SPIES, "Correlated electro-optical and TEM studies on single III-N nanowire heterostructures", Oct. 17th 2019 (text in English) (2020 laureate of the C’Nano Thesis Prize)
Ioanna DIMKOU, "Correlative microscopy of III-N nanostructures: application to photonics and power electronics" , Oct. 1st 2021 (text in English)

Master Degrees Conferred
Vicente ESPUELA SÁNCHEZ, “Design of an automatic system for characterization of ultraviolet photodetectors”, Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros de Telecomunicación, Polytechnic University of Madrid, September 2001
Fabien GUILLOT, “Epitaxy and study of AlGaN/GaN superlattices”, CEA-Grenoble / Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Rennes, July 2004
Sylvain LECONTE, “Development of the technology to fabricate GaN-based devices”, CEA-Grenoble / École Généraliste d'Ingénieurs de Marseille, July 2005
Lise LAHOURCADE, “Synthesis and characterization of non-polar nitride semiconductors”, CEA-Grenoble / École Nationale Supérieure de Physique de Grenoble, July 2006
Qiran LI, “Contribution to the fabrication of GaN microcavities: Deep etching of the substrate and modelling of Bragg reflectors”, CEA-Grenoble / Institut de Formation d’Ingénieurs de Paris-Sud, Sept. 2009, Sept. 2010
Priyasmita SINHA (Master I), “Study of the radiative efficiency of III-nitride nanostructures, CEA-Grenoble / Université Joseph Fourier / University of Delhi, July 2010, July 2011
Qing PAN, “Heterostructured GaN single-nanowire photodetectors, CEA-Grenoble / University of Grenoble, June 2012
Priyasmita SINHA (Master II), “Assessment of InGaN Nanostructures as Photodetectors”, CEA-Grenoble / University of Delhi, July 2011
Akhil AJAY (Master I), “Structural and Optical Characterization of InGaN Nanostructures for Advanced Photovoltaics”, CEA-Grenoble / University of Grenoble / University of Delhi, June 2014
Akhil AJAY (Master II), “Infrared optoelectronics using nonpolar III-nitride nanostructures”, CEA-Grenoble / University of Delhi, July 2015
Jakub POLACZYSNKY (Master I), "Influence and manipulation of polarization fields in nitride nanowire heterostructures studied by correlated photoluminescence and transmission electron microscopy" (Co-supervised with Dr. Martien den Hertog and Dr. Bruno Gayral), CEA-Grenoble / University of Grenoble, July 2016
Balakumar BASKARAN (Master II), "Chemical mapping at the sub-nm scale of ultraviolet μ-LEDs" (co-supervised with Dr. Adeline Grenier and Dr. Catherine Bougerol), CEA-Grenoble / University of Grenoble, July 2018
Sergi CUESTA, "Growth and characterization of semiconducting nanowires for photodetection"' (co-supervised with Dr. Moïra Hocevar), CEA-Grenoble / Univ. Grenoble-Alpes, July 2019
Samar HAGAG, "Contribution to the fabrication of an electron-pumped UV laser", CEA-Grenoble / Univ. Grenoble-Alpes, July 2019
Lou DENAIX, "Optical characterization of AlGaN-based separate confinement heterostructures and distributed Bragg reflectors for the fabrication of UV-lasers", CEA-Grenoble / Univ. Grenoble-Alpes, July 2021

Former Post-doctoral Researchers
Eirini SARIGIANIDOU, Oct. 2005 - Sep. 2006
Fernando GONZALEZ-POSADA, Jan. 2011 - June 2012
Emannouil TRICHAS, Dec. 2012 - Dec. 2014
Sirona VALDUEZA-FELIP, Jan. 2012 - Mar. 2015
Luca REDAELLI, Jan. 2014 - May 2017
Jonas LÄHNEMANN, Dec. 2014 - Dec. 2016
David BROWNE, Jun. 2015 - May 2017
Houssaine MACHHADANI, Sep. 2017 – Aug. 2019 (co-supervised with Jean-Michel GERARD)
Aidan ROONEY, Jan. 2019 – Jan. 2021 (co-supervised with David COOPER)

High School Intern
Felix RÜLING, Dec. 2018

Past Visiting Scholars
Sirona VALDUEZA-FELIP (Universidad de Alcala, Spain), Sep. - Dec. 2008, Oct. - Dec. 2009, June - Aug. 2016
Jörg TEUBERT (Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen, Germany), May - Jun. 2009
Zarko GACEVIC (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain), Jun. - Sep. 2009
Laura MONTEAGUDO-LERMA (Universidad de Alcala, Spain), Sep. - Dec. 2011, Oct. - Dec. 2012
Arantzazu NUÑEZ CASCAJERO (Universidad de Alcala, Madrid, Spain), Jan. - Apr. 2014
Marco JIMENEZ (Universidad de Alcala, Spain), Oct. - Dec. 2015
Jan MÜSSENER (Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen, Germany), Dec. 2015
Pascal HILLE (Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen, Germany), Dec. 2015
Rodrigo BLASCO (Universidad de Alcala, Spain), Sep. - Nov. 2017
Kamil KORONSKI (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland), Nov. - Dec. 2017