You are here : Home > The Sinaps team > Welcome to the Silicium Nanoélectronique Photonique et Structures WebPage

Welcome to the Silicium Nanoélectronique Photonique et Structures WebPage

Published on 18 December 2018


Head of SiNaPS

Emmanuel Hadji

Biography
Silicium Nanoélectronique Photonique et Structures (SiNaPS)
Phone: +33 4 38 78 38 08
Fax: +33 4 38 78 51 97


Presentation

The SiNaPS team investigates the new physical phenomena appearing when silicon is down-sized to the nanometer scale. Our aim is to unveil new devices based on the understanding of those phenomena and to explore their future applications. Therefore, SiNaPS research span from material growth and nanotechnology to characterization of nanostructure electronic/structural/optical properties, up to prototype nanodevices fabrication.
Our effort is tightly focused on two fields: the physics of silicon and germanium based nanostructures (i.e. nanowires, quantum boxes and nanostructured GeMn alloys) and the optics of wavelength-scale optical microstructures namely photonic crystals and microcavities.

People


The team is now composed of 25 people located on the Minatec Center.

Permanent staff
André Barski
Denis Buttard
Vincent Calvo
Thomas Charvolin
Eric Delamadeleine
Pascal Gentile
Emmanuel Hadji
Jean-Baptiste Jager
Nicolas Pauc
Emmanuel Picard
Postdocs
Alban Gassenq
Dimitri Tainoff
Graduate students
Mustapha Boukhari
Olivier Marconot
Shashank Mathur
Dhruv Singhal
Manon Tardif

BELLUZZI Michaël 04 38 78 43 49
BERTRAND Mathieu 04 38 78 22 49
BUTTARD Denis 04 38 78 18 22
CALVO Vincent 04 38 78 18 09
CHARVOLIN Thomas 04 38 78 91 80
CHRETIEN Jérémie 04 38 78 31 12
DELAMADELEINE Eric 04 38 78 47 79
GENTILE Pascal 04 38 78 68 82
HADJI Emmanuel 04 38 78 38 08
JAGER Jean-Baptiste 04 38 78 18 24
PAUC Nicolas 04 38 78 18 04
PICARD Emmanuel 04 38 78 90 97
SINGHAL Dhruv 04 38 78 44 16
TARDIF Manon 04 38 78 18 06
THAI Quang-Minh 04 38 78 31 83
THIBON Romain 04 38 78 27 92


Current research axes

Among the main achievements are, in the field of group IV nanostructures, the growth of sub-5 nm diameter crystalline Si and Ge nanowires, the growth of nanostructured (branched) silicon nanowires, the nanofabrication of porous alumina templates, the growth of nanostructured GeMn alloys containing a high Tc (>400 K) ferromagnetic phase. At the frontier of electronics and optics, we studied the mechanisms of carrier recombination and light emission in silicon-on-insulator (SOI) thin films where we demonstrated the Fermi-Dirac condensation of excitons into a metallic liquid. In the field of nanophotonics, we evidenced the potential of SOI microcavities and photonic crystal structures to control the radiation diagram of photons. We also demonstrated strong (2 orders of magnitude) light extraction enhancement by low group velocity SOI photonic crystals. Finally, we applied our effort to the quest for ultra strong light confinement in high Q nanocavities (Q > 60.000 for V = 0.6(l/n)3 achieved) and to the fabrication of rare-earth (Er) functionalized toroidal whispery gallery mode microresonators for future on chip light generation.

In the reporting period, the laboratory as also launched the virtual laboratory SiNOPTIQ with the Institut Carnot de Bourgogne to pursue research in the field of near-field nanophotonics. At the same time we started, in association with the Laboratoire des Technologies de la Microélectronique, the NanoS platform dedicated to the synthesis of nanostructures and to their assembly into nanodevices.




Research tools, methods

The laboratory operates one MBE and one CVD chamber for the epitaxy of group-IV nanostructures, plus a vacuum e-beam deposition chamber dedicated to the deposition of oxide and metal films. The structural characterization is based on a low temperature STM with in-situ growth capabilities, SEM and TEM equipments located on the Nanocharacterization Platform (PFNC) within Minatec, as well as X-Ray diffraction techniques at the nearby located European Synchrotron Radiation Facility. For nanofabrication, the laboratory makes an intensive use of the Plateforme Technologique Amont (PTA) and also runs close collaborations with CEA and CNRS teams operating at Léti facilities. Along the years, the laboratory has intensively developed spectroscopic characterization tools such as : life time measurements and low temperature spectroscopy, spatially-resolved spectroscopy at the micron scale, wave-guided spectroscopy and also optical near-field microscopy.




More from SiNaPS team ...

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Équipe SINAPS > Présentation de l'équipe Silicium Nanoélectronique Photonique et Structures (SiNaPS)

Présentation de l'équipe Silicium Nanoélectronique Photonique et Structures (SiNaPS)

Publié le 18 décembre 2018


Responsable de SiNaPS

Emmanuel Hadji

Biographie
Silicium Nanoélectronique Photonique et Structures (SiNaPS)
Tel. : +33 4 38 78 38 08
Fax : +33 4 38 78 51 97

Présentation de SiNaPS

L'équipe SiNaPS étudie les nouveaux phénomènes physiques apparaissant lorsque le silicium est réduit à l'échelle nanométrique. Notre objectif est de dévoiler de nouveaux dispositifs basés sur la compréhension de ces phénomènes et d'explorer leurs applications futures. Par conséquent, la recherche SiNaPS s'étend de la croissance des matériaux et de la nanotechnologie à la caractérisation des propriétés électroniques / structurelles / optiques des nanostructures, jusqu'à la fabrication de prototypes de nanodispositifs.
Nos efforts sont concentrés sur deux domaines : la physique des nanostructures à base de silicium et de germanium (nanofils, boîtes quantiques et alliages GeMn nanostructurés) et l'optique des microstructures optiques à longueur d'onde, à savoir les cristaux photoniques et les microcavités.


Membres de SiNaPS


L'équipe est composée d'une équipe de 25 personnes située au Centre Minatec.

Personnel permanent
André Barski
Denis Buttard
Vincent Calvo
Thomas Charvolin
Eric Delamadeleine
Pascal Gentile
Emmanuel Hadji
Jean-Baptiste Jager
Nicolas Pauc
Emmanuel Picard
Post-doctorants
Alban Gassenq
Dimitri Tainoff
Étudiants en thèse et en Master
Mustapha Boukhari
Olivier Marconot
Shashank Mathur
Dhruv Singhal
Manon Tardif

BELLUZZI Michaël 04 38 78 43 49
BERTRAND Mathieu 04 38 78 22 49
BUTTARD Denis 04 38 78 18 22
CALVO Vincent 04 38 78 18 09
CHARVOLIN Thomas 04 38 78 91 80
CHRETIEN Jérémie 04 38 78 31 12
DELAMADELEINE Eric 04 38 78 47 79
GENTILE Pascal 04 38 78 68 82
HADJI Emmanuel 04 38 78 38 08
JAGER Jean-Baptiste 04 38 78 18 24
PAUC Nicolas 04 38 78 18 04
PICARD Emmanuel 04 38 78 90 97
SINGHAL Dhruv 04 38 78 44 16
TARDIF Manon 04 38 78 18 06
THAI Quang-Minh 04 38 78 31 83
THIBON Romain 04 38 78 27 92

Activités de recherche

Parmi les principales réalisations, dans le domaine des nanostructures du groupe IV, la croissance de nanofils cristallins Si et Ge de diamètre sub-5 nm, la croissance de nanofils de silicium nanostructurés (ramifiés), la nanofabrication de matrices poreuses en alumine, la croissance de GeMn nanostructurée les alliages contenant une phase ferromagnétique à Tc élevée (> 400 K). Aux frontières de l'électronique et de l'optique, nous avons étudié les mécanismes de recombinaison des porteurs et d'émission de lumière dans des couches minces de silicium sur isolant (SOI) où nous avons démontré la condensation de Fermi-Dirac d'excitons dans un liquide métallique. Dans le domaine de la nanophotonique, nous avons mis en évidence le potentiel des microcavités SOI et des structures cristallines photoniques pour contrôler le diagramme de rayonnement des photons. Nous avons également démontré une forte amélioration de l'extraction de la lumière (2 ordres de grandeur) par des cristaux photoniques SOI à faible vitesse de groupe. Enfin, nous avons appliqué nos efforts à la recherche d'un confinement ultra-puissant de la lumière dans des nanocavités Q élevées (Q> 60 000 pour V = 0,6 (l/n)3) et à la fabrication de galeries toroïdales fonctionnalisées en Terres Rares (Er) microrésonateurs pour la future génération de lumière sur puce.

Au cours de la période considérée, le laboratoire a également lancé le laboratoire virtuel SiNOPTIQ avec l'Institut Carnot de Bourgogne pour poursuivre ses recherches dans le domaine de la nanophotonique en champ proche. Parallèlement, nous avons démarré, en association avec le Laboratoire des Technologies de la Microélectronique, la plateforme NanoS dédiée à la synthèse de nanostructures et à leur assemblage en nanodispositifs.




Outils de recherche, méthodes

L'équipe exploite une chambre MBE et une chambre CVD pour l'épitaxie de nanostructures de groupe IV, plus une chambre de dépôt de faisceau électronique sous vide dédiée au dépôt de films d'oxyde et de métal. La caractérisation structurale est basée sur une STM basse température avec des capacités de croissance in situ, des équipements SEM et TEM situés sur la Plateforme de Nanocaractérisation (PFNC) au sein de Minatec, ainsi que des techniques de diffraction des rayons X à proximité du Synchrotron Européen. Pour la nanofabrication, le laboratoire fait un usage intensif de la Plateforme Technologique Amont (PTA) et entretient des collaborations étroites avec les équipes du CEA et du CNRS opérant dans les installations du Léti. Au fil des ans, le laboratoire a développé de manière intensive des outils de caractérisation spectroscopique tels que : mesures de durée de vie et spectroscopie à basse température, spectroscopie résolue spatialement à l'échelle du micron, spectroscopie guidée par ondes et microscopie optique en champ proche.




Un peu plus nous concernant…