You are here : Home > The NPSC team > Al(Ga)N/GaN nanostructures for intersubband optoelectronics in the near- and mid-infrared

Prem Kumar Kandaswamy

Al(Ga)N/GaN nanostructures for intersubband optoelectronics in the near- and mid-infrared

Published on 29 June 2010


Thesis presented June 29, 2010

Abstract:
This work reports on the design, epitaxial growth and characterization of Al(Ga)N/GaN quantum wells (QWs) and quantum dots (QDs) which constitute the active region of intersubband (ISB) devices operating in the near-infrared (NIR) and mid-infrared (MIR) spectral regions. The optimization of the Nextnano3 software for design of GaN/AlN QWs for ISB absorption in the 1.55 μm telecom region is presented. Growth of these structures was performed using plasma-assisted molecular beam epitaxy. The deposition process required fine tuning due to the large lattice mismatch. Minimum strain relaxation was obtained by adopting Ga-excess growth of both GaN and AlN layers. Staking faults embedded in the AlN layers were identified to be the cause of periodic relaxation of the structure. Infrared optical characterization demonstrates that the polarization-induced internal electric fields introduces a blue shift of the transitions and can critically modify the absorption magnitude.
Three-dimensionally confined GaN/AlN QDs introduces many novel properties for application as active region in ISB devices. The growth of QDs was performed under both Ga-rich and N-rich conditions. Dilution of QDs with required size was achieved using the enhanced-mobility condition of the Ga-rich method. Spectroscopic studies reveal absence of non-radiative recombination even in long lived QDs. Photodetectors fabricated on GaN/AlN QD superlattices present photocurrent at NIR and MIR, assigned to s-pz and s-pxy transitions, respectively. The dark current depends on the QD density due to hopping transport.
Foreseeing the importance of ISB devices in MIR and far-infrared regions of the spectrum, we have achieved ISB wavelength extension up to ~ 10 μm. This was performed basically by decreasing the internal electric-field and reducing the quantum confinement in GaN/AlGaN QW superlattices. Doping can induce a blue shift of more than 50% of the ISB transition energy, due to many-body effects.

Keywords:
nitrides, intersubband, molecular beam epitaxy, infrared, quantum well, quantum dot, intersubband, Nanostructures

On-line thesis.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Équipe NPSC > Nanostructures Al(Ga)N/GaN pour l'optoélectronique intersousbande dans l'infrarouge proche et moyen

Prem Kumar Kandaswamy

Nanostructures Al(Ga)N/GaN pour l'optoélectronique intersousbande dans l'infrarouge proche et moyen

Publié le 29 juin 2010


Thèse soutenue le 29 juin 2010 pour obtenir le grade de docteur de l'Université de Grenoble - Spécialité : Physique des Matériaux

Résumé :
Ce travail a porté sur la modélisation, l’épitaxie et la caractérisation de puits quantiques et de boîtes quantiques Al(Ga)N/GaN, qui forment la région active de composants intersousbande (ISB) opérant dans l’infrarouge proche (NIR) et l’infrarouge moyen (MIR). Le manuscrit décrit l’optimisation du logiciel Nextnano3 pour la modélisation des puits GaN/AlN. La croissance de ces structures a été réalisée par épitaxie par jets moléculaires assistée plasma. Le processus de déposition a du être adapté à la grande différence de paramètres de maille. Le minimum de relaxation de contrainte a été obtenu par la croissance en excès de Gallium des couches de GaN et d’AlN. Les fautes d’empilement apparues dans les couches d’AlN ont été identifiées comme étant la cause de la relaxation périodique de la structure. La caractérisation optique infrarouge montre que les champs électriques induits par la polarisation introduisent a décalage vers le bleu des transitions et peuvent modifier de façon critique la magnitude de l’absorption.
Les boîtes quantiques (QD) de GaN/AlN confinées en trois dimensions introduisent de nombreuses nouvelles propriétés pour leur utilisation en tant que région active de composants ISB. La croissance des QD a été réalisée dans des conditions riche-Ga et riche-N. La dilution des QD d’une taille donnée a été obtenue grâce à l’amélioration de la mobilité associée à la croissance en conditions riche-Ga. Les études spectroscopiques révèlent l’absence de recombinaisons non radiatives même dans le cas de QD ayant des longs temps de vie. Les photodétecteurs fabriqués à partir de superréseaux de QD de GaN/AlN présentent un photocourant dans le NIR et dans le MIR attribué respectivement aux transitions s-pz et s-pxy. Le courant d’obscurité dépend de la densité des QD dû au transport hopping.
Prévoyant l’importance des composants ISB dans les régions spectrales du MIR et de l’infrarouge lointain, nous avons obtenu une extension de la longueur d’onde ISB jusqu’à ~ 10 μm. Ce résultat a été obtenu en diminuant le champ électrique interne et en réduisant le confinement dans les puits quantiques GaN/AlGaN. Le dopage peut introduire un décalage vers le bleu de plus de 50% de l’énergie de transition ISB dû aux effets des corps multiples.

Jury :
Président : Le Si Dang
Rapporteur : Bruno Gérard
Rapporteur : Nicolas Grandjean
Membre : François H. Julien
Membre : Chantal Fontaine
Membre : Pierre Ruterana
Membre : Eva Monroy
Directeur de thèse : Eva Monroy

Mots clés :
Nanostructures, nitrures, inter-sous-bande, épitaxie par jets moléculaires, infrarouge, puits quantique, boîte quantique

Thèse en ligne.