You are here : Home > The NPSC team > Epitaxy of II-VI semiconductors: ZnTe/ZnSe and CdTe:Se. Study of the electronic confinement in type-II heterostructures and isoelectronic doping

Rita Najjar

Epitaxy of II-VI semiconductors: ZnTe/ZnSe and CdTe:Se. Study of the electronic confinement in type-II heterostructures and isoelectronic doping

Published on 12 December 2008


Thesis presented December 12, 2008

Abstract:
This work is based on the growth, by molecular beam epitaxy, of semiconductor heterostructures in which tellurium and selenium coexist. The goals are to develop optimized growth conditions and to study the specific physical properties due to this coexistence. More specifically, we worked on ZnTe/ZnSe type-II quantum wells and quantum dots, and on isoelectronic centers CdTe: Se.
For ZnTe highly strained on ZnSe we observed a Stranski-Krastanov like relaxation and surface reorganization, but with large scale undulations. Nevertheless we managed to obtained nanometer scale islands thanks to a surface treatment based on amorphous tellurium deposition and sublimation. Then we were faced with difficulties regarding islands capping to form quantum dots. Under usual ZnSe growth conditions, the ZnTe islands are fully flattened and disappear. We propose new growth conditions to preserve the islands and obtain 0D confinement. We observe that the nanostructures we developed are never based on pure ZnTe in ZnSe but on ordered alloy ZnSeTe which forms spontaneously.
We studied in details the photoluminescence and time resolved photoluminescence properties of thin ZnTe/ZnSe quantum wells and of ZnTe/ZnSe quantum dot planes. The huge difference observed between those two kinds of samples is fully explained by a model based on electrostatic and statistical peculiarity of confinement in the case of type-II band alignment.
The last part of this manuscript is dedicated to the delta-doping of CdTe with selenium. We succeeded in isolating a single selenium based localization center and study the anti-bunching of photons emitted by such centers, proving that they behave as single photons emitters.

Keywords:
Quantum Dots, Molecular Beam Epitaxy, II-VI Semiconductor : tellurium and selenium, electronic confinement in type-II heterostructures, isoelectronic doping

On-line thesis.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Équipe NPSC > Épitaxie de semiconducteurs II-VI : ZnTe/ZnSe et CdTe:Se. Étude du confinement électronique de type-II et du dopage isoélectronique

Rita Najjar

Épitaxie de semiconducteurs II-VI : ZnTe/ZnSe et CdTe:Se. Étude du confinement électronique de type-II et du dopage isoélectronique

Publié le 12 décembre 2008


Thèse soutenue le 12 décembre 2008 pour obtenir le grade de docteur de l'Université Joseph Fourier - Grenoble I - Spécialité : Physique

Résumé :
Ce travail repose sur le développement de la croissance, par épitaxie par jets moléculaires, d'hétérostructures présentant une alliance de deux familles de matériaux semi-conducteurs: les tellurures et les séléniures. Il tend à montrer l'originalité des propriétés physique spécifiques de cette association en développant deux cas: les puits et les boîtes quantiques de type-II ZnTe/ZnSe et les centres isoélectroniques CdTe:Se.
Pour ZnTe fortement contraint sur ZnSe, une transition morphologique de type Stranski-Krastanow non-standard a été observée. La formation d'îlots nanométriques a pu être obtenue grâce à un traitement de surface à base de Te amorphe. Lors de leur encapsulation, nous avons été confrontés à une disparition totale de ces îlots. Nous proposons de nouvelles conditions de croissance qui limitent les phénomènes de ségrégation, ou d'échange Se/Te, et préservent en partie les îlots. Cependant les nanostructures obtenues ne contiennent pas ZnTe sous forme binaire pure mais sous forme d'alliage ordonné ZnSeTe.
Les propriétés de photoluminescence d'un plan de boîtes quantiques et celles d'un puit quantique ZnTe/ZnSe sont analysées et comparées. Nous proposons un modèle capable de décrire parfaitement les différents résultats optiques spécifiques d'un système où l'alignement de bande est de type-II. Ce modèle est basé sur des arguments statistiques et électrostatiques.
La dernière partie traite de l'insertion d'atomes de sélénium dans CdTe sous forme d'un dopage planaire. Des centres isoélectroniques sélénium ont pu être isolés. Une mesure du dégroupement des photons émis montre que ces objets individuels se comportent comme des émetteurs de photons uniques.

Jury :
Président : Franck Omnes
Rapporteur : Nicolas Bertru
Rapporteur : Olivier Briot
Examinateur : Piotr Kossacki
Directeur de thèse : Henri Mariette
Co-directeur de thèse : Régis André

Mots clés :
Boîtes quantiques, épitaxie par jets moléculaires, semiconducteurs II-VI : tellurures et séléniures, confinement électronique type-II, dopage isoélectronique

Thèse en ligne.